What is the MOT scheme?

The Ministry of Transport test (more usually known as the MOT) is an annual test of car safety, including  roadworthiness aspects and exhaust emissions which are applicable to most vehicles over four years old in Northern Ireland if they are used on public roads.

Consistent standards

The MOT scheme is there to ensure consistent standards. In Northern Ireland there are 15 test centres. The DVA Test Centres carry out over 900,000 roadworthiness checks a year on the following:

•cars and motorcycles which are four years old and over

•light goods vehicles from three years old

•trailers, large passenger carrying vehicles and heavy goods vehicles (over 3,500 kgs gross weight) from one year old

•buses and taxis from when they are first used